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APPLICATION PROCEDURES FOR APPROVAL OF 

PROVIDERS AND ACTIVITIES AS 

NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE CONTINUING EDUCATION 

DELIVERED IN A DISTANCE EDUCATION FORMAT 

 

 

  

Persons or institutions seeking approval to offer continuing education activities should read 

the following before filling out the various application forms so as to familiarize themselves 

with the procedures involved with submitting an application(s) pursuant to Sections 81-885.49 

through 81-885.54 of the Nebraska Real Estate License Act and Title 299, Chapter 7 of the 

Rules and Regulations of the Nebraska Real Estate Commission. 

 

ARELLO DISTANCE EDUCATION CERTIFICATION REQUIRED 

 

Title 299 Chapter 7 Section 003.02 sets forth the following; AContinuing education activities 
offered in a distance education format must be certified by the Association of Real Estate 

License Law Officials. A student must complete the distance education activity within one 

year of the date of enrollment. Distance education as it is used in this chapter shall mean 

courses in which instruction does not take place in a traditional classroom setting but rather 

through other media where instructor and student are separated by distance and sometimes by 

time.@ (Emphasis added) ARELLO Certification must encompass the entire delivery stream.  If 
a combination of Primary or Developer/Secondary provider are involved all entities must have 

achieved Certification. 

 

THE AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT (ADA) 

 

Real Estate Educators have responsibilities under the ADA.  Any private entity that offers 

courses (activities) or examinations related to licensing for professional or trade purposes 

must offer such courses (activities) or examinations in a place and manner accessible to all 

persons, or offer alternative but equal arrangements.  This may include the provision of 

auxiliary aids and services for persons with disabilities.  For more information please contact 

your Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. 

 

GENERAL APPROVAL REQUIREMENTS 

 

Each application for continuing education approval consists of all of the following, 1-4, 

and must be received in the Commission Office at least 30 days in advance of the program being 

offered for credit. 

 

1) Submit the Activity Sponsor Application (DE-1) with a copy of the ARELLO Certification 

Summary Sheet for each entity involved in the delivery stream. 

 

2) Include the Activity Application (DE-2) along with an outline of the subject matter 

to be covered in the continuing education activity, including a time allotment schedule. 

Note:  No continuing education activity can be less than a total of three clock hours. 

Activities are approved in 3-hour increments based on a 50-minute hour. 

 

Learning objectives must be incorporated into continuing education activity outlines. 

These should reflect the goals your activity has been developed to meet.  Time allotments 

should also reflect these goals and objectives. 

 

Also requested is a reference to major resource materials upon which the activity relies. 

If these cannot be simply denoted, please include copies of these resources at time 

of application. 

 

3) Access to the actual activity. 
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4) Submit a copy of the proposed continuing education activity completion certificate 

(See Example DE-3), which can be no larger than 8 2 inches by 11 inches and provides 
for the following information: 

 

a) The name, identification number and license type of the licensee. 

 

b) The title of the continuing education activity including its Nebraska Real Estate 

Commission assigned 4-digit activity approval/content number. 

 

c) The date(s) on which the activity was completed. 

 

d) The name of the Provider. 

 

e) A statement that the licensee fully completed the activity and the number of hours 

for which the continuing education activity has been approved.   

 

f) The fact that the program is approved by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission must 

be clearly stated. 

 

g) All information on activity completion certificates must be printed in ink and filled 

out completely  prior to distributing to students. 

 

EVALUATION OF ACTIVITIES AND INSTRUCTORS 

 

All Providers must have a system of evaluation by students in which the activity and instructor 

is evaluated at the end of each offering.  The completed evaluation forms, as mandated by 

the ARELLO Certification, on each activity/instructor must be kept on file four years from 

the date the student completes the offering and may be requested at any time by the Commission. 

 

REQUIRED CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

Six (6) continuing education hours out of the twelve required every two years must be in 

designated subject matter.  (This was increased from 3 hours effective for the 2011-2012 

continuing education period.)  The Commission will determine which subject matter will meet 

this requirement and will recognize appropriate activities by adding an "R" to the four-digit 

activity content number which is assigned to each activity approved.  Current designated 

subject matter are: 

The NE Real Estate License Act(a study in part, or whole) 

The NE Real Estate Trust Acct. Manual (a study in part, or whole) 

The NE Landlord/Tenant Act 

Fair Housing/ADA 

Ethical Decision-Making/Studies of Codes of Ethics 

Agency Relationships (must not conflict with NE statute and regs) 

Preparing a Broker Price Opinion (BPO) or Certified Market Analysis (CMA) 

Environmental Concerns 

Contracts 

Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA) 

Finance 

 

4-DIGIT ACTIVITY CONTENT NUMBER 

 

Licensees are prohibited from receiving credit for duplicating activities or course content 

within four years.  Required activities (R-courses) are an exception to this, these may be 

duplicated in each subsequent 12-hour requirement.  In order to assist licensees in identifying 

potential duplication concerns a 4-digit course content number is assigned to each activity 

upon approval.  This number must appear in references to the approved activity i.e. marketing, 

scheduling, completion certificates, etc. 

 

 

TERM OF APPROVAL 

 

ARELLO Certification must be maintained for activities to remain approved by the Nebraska 

Real Estate Commission.  Initial Nebraska Approval is valid for a three year period and at 

the end of that time a provider may apply for renewal of approval for another three years. 
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SIGNIFICANT CHANGES TO APPROVED ACTIVITY 

 

Should significant changes take place in the subject matter of the continuing education activity 

during the three year period of approval then the activity must be submitted to the Commission 

office for review and approval at the same time it is submitted to ARELLO. (See Form DE-4) 

 

POST APPROVAL REQUIREMENTS 

 

After initial approval of a continuing education activity the provider needs to supply to 

the Real Estate Commission or maintain records of the following: 

 

1) Records shall be established and maintained by each provider on each individual student 

for four years.  (See Example DE-5) Specifically included in the records must be the: 

 

a) Name and identification number of the licensee. 

b) Address of the licensee at the time the activity(ies) was completed. 

c) The title of the activity completed with its activity content number. 

d) The date the activity was completed. 

e) The number of approved credit hours of each separate activity. 

 

2) Within ten days after the conclusion of an approved activity the provider must 

electronically submit to the Commission office a listing of the attendee(s) in 

alphabetical order by last name (if plural).  Tools will be provided to successfully 

submit continuing education verification lists electronically.  The following will be 

received by email upon approval of a program. 

1. The Instructions and the Required List Format information. 

2. The “Read Only” Excel Spreadsheet template specific to each Provider. 

3. Step-by-Step Instructional Video. 

 

Data collected on the spreadsheet must include the licensees’ License I.D. number, Last 

and First names, Provider name, date the activity was completed, activity content number 

and number of hours of credit. 

 

LICENSEES RELY UPON THESE UPLOADS TO RECEIVE CREDIT FOR THEIR ATTENDANCE AT PROGRAMS. 

ACCURACY ON THE SPREADSHEET IS CRITICAL!  If information on this spreadsheet is not 

accurate it will result in licensees not receiving credit for their attendance in your 

programs.  Under no circumstance should a report be received in the Commission office 

beyond 10 days of the program. Chronic failure to submit timely and accurate reports 

will result in a Show Cause Hearing before the Commission as to why approval as an education 

Provider should not be rescinded. 

 

I.D. numbers:  Every time a license is issued i.e. upon initial issuance and annually 

upon license renewal, a Receipt Card will be provided to a Nebraska licensee.  The 

licensee’s I.D. number appears on this card.  Although the license number will remain 

the same as long as the license is renewed, it is recommended that licensees be advised 

to refer to this card and verify the number when registering for an activity.   

 

Rosters, which include I.D. numbers, may be purchased from the Commission upon the 

execution of a Privacy Agreement with the Commission.  Please contact the Commission 

for further information. 

 RENEWAL OF APPROVAL 

 

Providers of ARELLO-Certified Distance Education continuing education activities will 

need to maintain ARELLO Certification and renew the Nebraska approval of continuing education 

every three years for activities which they wish to continue offering. 

 

A renewal packet will be mailed to each provider in January regarding the activity(ies) 

due for renewal sometime that year.  (See Form DE-8) This packet will request pertinent 

information regarding the activity(ies) due for renewal and a current ARELLO CERTIFICATION 

SUMMARY SHEET.  This renewal application will then be reviewed and action will be taken by 

the Commission. 
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GUIDELINES FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES 

 

Continuing education providers must follow the procedures for approval of providers, 

activities, and instructors outlined in the Nebraska Real Estate License Act and Title 299 

NAC Chapter 7. The following subject matter is generally considered acceptable for continuing 

education activities, but providers are encouraged to create new activities to meet the changing 

demands of the real estate market. Addressing listed subject matter in an activity does not 

guarantee approval by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission. 

 

Approvable subject matter includes, but is not limited to, the following: 

 

1. Agency 

2. Auctions of real estate 

3. Broker price opinions and comparative market analyses 

4. Commercial real estate sales and leasing 

5. Compliance with federal and state real estate laws 

6. Computers - utilization to serve the consumer 

7. Condominiums and cooperatives 

8. Contracts used in real estate transactions 

9. Counseling the real estate client 

10. Diversity, i.e. respecting cultural differences 

11. Environmental concerns, i.e. radon, lead-based paint, etc. 

12. Ethical practices in real estate 

13. Fair Housing/ADA 

14. Farm and ranch real estate sales and leasing 

15. Housing and Urban Development programs 

16. Land use planning and zoning, i.e. site assessments, feasibility studies, etc. 

17. Landlord/Tenant Act 

18. Legal issues in real estate e-commerce 

19. Legislative changes that affect real estate (not pending legislation) 

20. Property inspections, i.e. wood-destroying insects, furnace/AC, whole house, etc. 

21. Property management 

22. Real estate accounting and taxation, including exchanges of real property 

23. Real estate development, construction, and energy conservation methods 

24. Real estate finance 

25. Real estate investment 

26. Real estate mathematics 

27. Real estate relocation 

28. Real estate securities and syndications 

29. Risk reduction 

30. Technology used to meet the clients’ needs 

31. Title issues 

32. Trust accounts 

33. Water and waste management 

 

 Revised August, 2011 
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 Form DE-1 

 REAL ESTATE CONTINUING DISTANCE EDUCATION  

 ACTIVITY SPONSOR APPLICATION 

 
SPONSOR NAME                                 DATE                 

 

SPONSOR ADDRESS                              PHONE                

 

CITY, STATE, ZIP                                                  

 

WEBSITE                              E-MAIL                       

 

CONTACT PERSON                               PHONE                

 

TITLE OF CONTACT PERSON     
SCHOOL OWNERS/DIRECTORS 

 
Name                               Address                                  

 

City                               State                Zip                 

 

Name                               Address                                  

 

City                               State                Zip                 

 

Name                               Address                                  

 

City                               State                Zip                 

 

  

ATTENDANCE MONITORING POLICY:  Provide a statement explaining 
how you intend to verify student identity and monitor 100% 

participation.  

                                                                  

                                                                  

                                                                  

    

ADMISSION/REFUND POLICY:  Provide a statement explaining your 
admission policy and how refunds are to be made. 

                                                                  

                                                                  

                                                                  

  N/A I have enclosed the activity sponsor application fee (if 

applicable). -over- 
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EXAM and RE-EXAM PROCEDURES (if applicable):  Provide a 

statement explaining your exam procedure and your policy for make-up 

exam(s). 

 

                                                                   

                                                                  

                                                                   

 

METHOD OF RECORD MAINTENANCE:  Provide a statement explaining 
your procedure for maintaining all continuing education records for 

a minimum of four years. 

 

                                                                  

                                                                  

                                                                  

     
THE AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT (ADA).  Any private entity that offers 
courses or examinations related to licensing for professional or trade purposes 

must offer such courses or examinations in a place and manner accessible to all 

persons, or offer alternative but equal arrangements.  This may include the 

provision of auxiliary aids and services for persons with disabilities.  For more 

information please contact your Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. 

  
 

I hereby certify that all information supplied herein and on all attachments is 

true and accurate and that this program will be conducted in compliance with the 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).  I attest that the sponsor of this activity 

has not had a real estate education certification revoked by any regulating entity 

of any state or jurisdiction. 

 

SIGNATURE OF CONTACT PERSON:                             

 

DATE:                     
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 FORM DE-2 

 REAL ESTATE COMMISSION  

 DISTANCE EDUCATION 

 ACTIVITY APPLICATION 

 

ACTIVITY SPONSOR:                                        

 

ACTIVITY TITLE:                                          

 

DELIVERY METHOD:________________________________________ 

 
TOTAL HOURS OF ACTIVITY:        REQUESTED CE HOURS:     
                        
ENCLOSED WITH THIS APPLICATION IS:     

N/A the Activity application fee   

  (if applicable)     

  fee amount $____________   

__a copy (or description) of all 

  activity materials     
__a copy of the final exam and answer  
  key (if applicable)     
__a copy of the completion certificate 

__a copy of all proposed advertising 

__all other applicable fees 

 

LIST MAJOR REFERENCE MATERIALS USED IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF THIS 

ACTIVITY: 

                                                     

 

                                                     

 

THE INSTRUCTOR(S)/SUBJECT MATTER EXPERT(S) FOR THE ACTIVITY WILL 

BE: 

                                                                  

**THE MAIN BENEFIT TO THE CUSTOMERS/CLIENTS OF THE LICENSEE WHO 

COMPLETES THIS ACTIVITY WILL BE:                                  

 
                                                                   

 

SIGNATURE OF ACTIVITY SPONSOR:                                     

 

DATE                     
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 -over- 

 
 
 Time: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
DETAILED CONTENT OUTLINE 

Break into approximately 

15-minute segments as 

indicated by time 

equivalency studies. 

 
LEARNING OBJECTIVES 
Please provide a minimum of 3 to 

5 learning Objectives for every 

3 hours of your activity.  A 

Learning Objective defines:  

"WHAT WILL THE STUDENT BE ABLE 

TO DO UPON COMPLETION OF THIS 

ACTIVITY?" 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
SAMPLE: 

 
 

 
 

 
5 minutes 

 
Five fiduciary 

responsibilities of an 

agent to his client  

 
The student will be able to define 

either verbally or in writing the 

5 fiduciary responsibilities an 

agent has to his client and give 

an example of how each of the 5 

responsibilities could be 

applied in a real estate 

transaction. 
 
10 minutes 

 
a. confidentiality 

 

 
 

 
10 minutes 

 
b. obedience 

 
 

 
5 minutes 

 
c. loyalty 

 
 

 
5 minutes 

 
d. accounting 

 
 

 
15 minutes 

 
e. disclosure 
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Time: 

 
DETAILED CONTENT OUTLINE 

- Break into approximate 

15-minute segments as 

indicated by time 

equivalency studies. 

 
LEARNING OBJECTIVES - Please 

provide a minimum of 3 to 5 

Learning Objectives for every 3 

hours of your activity.  A 

Learning Objective defines:  

"WHAT WILL THE STUDENT BE ABLE 

TO DO UPON COMPLETION OF THIS 

ACTIVITY?" 
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 Example DE-3 

 

 EXAMPLE OF 

 ACTIVITY COMPLETION 

 CERTIFICATE 

 

 

Attendees Name      John Jaston     ______________ID#     _______       

 

License Type:  (salesperson or broker)           _____________________ 

 

 

Continuing Education Activity Completed                           _____  

 

               Easements (4-digit activity content number)       ____   

 

Number Hours Activity Approved for       3 hours       

 

Date(s) completed     May 6, 2002                        

 

Name of Provider     Activity Provider, Inc.           

 

Name of Instructor/Subject Matter Expert       Lee S. Hold             

  

I certify that the above named licensee did complete this continuing 

education activity for (# hours)granted by the Nebraska Real Estate 

Commission. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                               

Signature of Administrator  

or Instructor 

 

 

 THIS IS JUST AN EXAMPLE, YOU MAY USE ANOTHER FORMAT 

 AS LONG AS ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION IS INCLUDED. 
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 Form DE-4 

 

 SUBMISSION FOR 

 CHANGE IN AN APPROVED 

 CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITY 

 

 NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 P.O. Box 94667 

 Lincoln, NE 68509-4667 

 402-471-2004 

 

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT IN INK. 

 

Date                                    

 

Title of Activity                 (Activity Content Number)        

 

Name of Provider                                                   

 

Date Change will be Effective                                      

 

Description of change in subject matter and difficulty level if level has 

changed because of the change described: 

 

 

 

 

 

 ATTACH COPY OF ACTIVITY OUTLINE 

 THAT REFLECTS THE ABOVE DESCRIBED CHANGE 

 

 

 

 

  
                                    Signature of Administrator 

  
 Office Use Only 

 Do Not Write In This Space 

 

Received                                1st Offer Date             

 

To Commission               Expiration                             

 

Comments                                                           
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 Example DE-5 

 

 EXAMPLE OF 

 RECORD TO BE KEPT ON 

 INDIVIDUALS BY 

 A PROVIDER 

 

 

Licensee's Name - Jaston, John S.     ID#   903211 

 

Address:  201 S. Canton, Lincoln, NE 68510 

 

 

 

Activity Completed & Hours                               Date 

 

1.  Easements (#0000) - 3 hrs                           5/6/02 

2. 

3. 

4. 

5. 

6. 

 

 

 

 THIS IS JUST AN EXAMPLE, YOU MAY USE ANOTHER FORMAT 

 AS LONG AS ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION IS INCLUDED. 
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 Example DE-6 

 

 EXAMPLE OF 

 LIST TO BE SENT 

 TO COMMISSION OFFICE 

 WITHIN 10 DAYS 

 

 

 

The following is a complete and accurate list of the person(s) who completed 

the approved activity entitled Easements (#0000) offered through  

(Activity Provider, Inc.) on (date). 

 

 

Ahern, John E.               801 N. Wanton, Lincoln 876310 

 

Conn, Charles C.             1215 S. Gypsum, Lincoln 962176 

 

Jaston, John S.              201 S. Canton, Lincoln 903211 

 

Mystic, Connie M.            RR 2, Malcolm 874998 

 

Waring, G. Thomas            1004 Garrett, Des Moines, IA 644437 

 

I certify that all persons listed above were in attendance for the full 

three hours for which the above activity is approved. 

 

S

  Sincerely, 

 

 

 

I

  I.M.King 

A

  Administrator  

  Activity Provider, Inc. 

 

 

 

 THIS IS JUST AN EXAMPLE, YOU MAY USE ANOTHER FORMAT 

 AS LONG AS ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION IS INCLUDED. 
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 Form DE-8 

 

 RENEWAL OF APPROVAL 

 CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITY 

 

 NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 P.O. Box 94667 

 Lincoln, NE 68509-4667 

 402-471-2004 

 

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT IN INK 

 

Date                             

 

Name of Provider                                                   

 

Address___________________________________________________________ 

 

Contact Person___________________________Telephone(    )_____________ 

 

 

Names of Approved Continuing Education Activity(ies) submitted for Renewal.  

Attach copies of outlines with time allotments and ARELLO Summary Sheet for all 

entities involved in the delivery stream and for all activities for which renewal 

is sought. 

 

1. 

2. 

3. 

4. 

5. 

6. 

 

Name(s) of those approved continuing education activities for which renewal of 

approval will not be sought. 

 

1. 

2. 

3. 

4. 

5. 

6. 

 

 

Names of Approved Subject Matter Experts and activity(ies) for which they will 

be available. 

 

1. 

2. 

3. 

4. 

5. 

6. 

-over- 



 

 

  

Have any adverse actions or disciplinary actions been taken by any regulatory 

or licensing authority against your institution in any matter? 

 

 

       No 

 

       Yes, if yes explain fully 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Has your approval to offer continuing education activities or pre-license courses 

been revoked or suspended by any real estate regulatory body? 

 

 

 ______No 

 

______Yes, if yes explain fully 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I hereby certify that all information contained above and on all attachments is 

true and correct. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Signature of Administrator____________________________________________________ 

  
 Office Use Only 

 Do Not Write In This Space 

 

Received                             

 

Approval Date                      

 

To Commission                       

 

Expiration                         

 

Comments                                                                  

 

                                                                           

 

 

 

  



 

 

  

  

 

 

 

 

  Revised 8/2011 
 

Statutory References to 

Continuing Education 
 

81-885.49. Continuing education and training; purpose. 

The purpose of sections 81-885.49 to 81-885.54 is to establish requirements for continuing 

education and training of real estate brokers and salespersons who are licensed in order to 

maintain and improve the quality of real estate services provided to the public. 

81-885.50. Continuing education and training; terms, defined. 

As used in sections 81-885.49 to 81-885.54, unless the context otherwise requires: 

(1) Commission shall mean the State Real Estate Commission; 

(2) Licensee shall mean a natural person who is licensed by the commission as a real estate 

broker or salesperson; and 

(3) Two-year period shall mean twenty-four months commencing on January 1 following 

either the date of licensing of the real estate broker or salesperson or March 8, 1985, whichever is 

later, and each succeeding twenty-four-month period. 

81-885.51. Continuing education and training; evidence of completion. 

In each two-year period, every licensee shall complete twelve hours of approved continuing 

education activities and six hours of broker-approved training. Evidence of completion of such 

continuing education and training activities for the two-year period shall be submitted to the 

commission pursuant to rules and regulations adopted and promulgated by the commission. 

81-885.52. Continuing education and training; certify activities. 

(1) The commission shall certify as approved continuing education activities those courses, 

lectures, seminars, or other instructional programs which it determines would protect the public 

by improving the competency of licensees. The commission may require descriptive information 

about any continuing education or training activity and refuse approval of any continuing 

education or training activity which does not advance the purposes of sections 81-885.49 to 

81-885.54. The commission shall not approve any provider of continuing education or training 

courses, lectures, seminars, or other instructional programs unless such provider meets the 

standards established by the commission. 

(2) The commission shall certify the number of hours to be awarded for participation in an 

approved continuing education activity, based upon contact or classroom hours or other criteria 

prescribed by rule and regulation of the commission. 

(3) The commission may certify the number of hours to be awarded for successful completion 

of a course delivered in a distance education format, based upon the number of hours which 

http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.49
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.54
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.49
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.54
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.49
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.54


 

 

  

would be awarded in an equivalent classroom course or program or other criteria prescribed by 

rule and regulation of the commission. 

 

81-885.53. Continuing education and training; licensee; requirements. 

Except for inactive licensees, the commission shall not renew a license or issue a new license 

to any licensee who has failed to comply with the requirements of sections 81-885.49 to 

81-885.54. Inactive licensees may renew their licenses at the end of the two-year period without 

having completed the hours of continuing education and training activities required by section 

81-885.51 for each two-year period. Inactive licensees shall not be activated until the licensee has 

satisfactorily completed the total number of deficient hours of continuing education activities and 

filed evidence of such completion with the commission, except that no inactive licensee shall be 

required to make up more than the number of hours of continuing education required by section 

81-885.51 for a two-year period. 

 

81-885.54. Continuing education and training; rules and regulations. 

The commission shall adopt and promulgate rules and regulations necessary for the effective 

administration of sections 81-885.49 to 81-885.54 pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act. 

Such rules and regulations may include, but not be limited to, the establishment of minimum 

standards for schools, courses, and instructors. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.49
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.54
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.51
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.51
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.49
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.54


 

 

  

  

NOTE:  These Rules became effective October 14, 2011. 

 

Title 299 - NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

Chapter 7 - CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES; REQUIRED HOURS; APPROVAL; RESTRIC-

TIONS; DENIAL; REVOCATION; APPEAL PROCESS; RECORD KEEPING. 
 

001 Of the twelve hours of continuing education required in Section 81-885.51 of the Nebraska Real 
Estate License Act, six hours in each two-year period shall be taken in continuing education activities 
which are derived from material covering ethical decision-making or federal or state laws, rules, or 
regulations dealing with or pertaining to real estate or real estate transactions, and which are approved 
and designated by the Commission as meeting this six-hour requirement. 
 

001.01 Continuing education activities approved under this Section are not subject to the 
duplication provision as set forth in Section 003.07 of this Chapter, except that continuing 
education activities approved under this Section and which are of the same content, or if in the 
opinion of the Commission so similar as to be indistinguishable in content, cannot be duplicated 
within the same two-year continuing education period. 
 

002 The six hours of training required in Section 81-885.51 of the Nebraska Real Estate License Act may 
be fulfilled by satisfactorily completing training activities approved by the licensee’s designated broker and 

recognized by the Commission OR by satisfactorily completing Commission approved continuing 

education activities OR by some combination of both.  Training activity shall be required to be met and 
submitted as provided in the License Act and these regulations beginning in calendar year 2012. 
 

003 Qualifications for approval of continuing education activities shall be as stated herein. 
 

003.01 A continuing education activity offered in the State of Nebraska shall be qualified for 
approval if the Real Estate Commission determines that:  

 

003.01A The continuing education activity contributes to the maintenance and improve-
ment of the quality of real estate services provided by real estate licensees to the public; 
and 

 

003.01B An in-class continuing education activity must consist of at least three in-class 
clock hours but no more than eight in-class clock hours in any one day of instruction. In 
the case of a continuing education activity delivered in a distance education format there 
must be at least the content equivalent of three in-class clock hours, and certification 
pursuant to 299 NAC 7-002.02. An in-class clock hour is defined as 650 minutes in 
length; and  

 

003.01C The provider has submitted a complete application as prescribed by the Real 
Estate Commission at least thirty days prior to the beginning of the continuing education 
activity; and 

 

003.01D All instructors have met the qualification standards as established by the Real 
Estate Commission; and 

 

003.01E The provider has met the provisions of all other applicable state laws. 
 

003.02 Continuing education activities offered in a distance education format must be certified by 
the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials. A student must complete the distance 
education activity within one year of the date of enrollment. Distance education as it is used in this 
chapter shall mean courses in which instruction does not take place in a traditional classroom 
setting but rather through other media where instructor and student are separated by distance and 



 

 

  

sometimes by time. 
 

003.03 Courses taken by salesperson licensees toward meeting the broker pre-license 
requirements, with the exception of Real Estate Principles and Practices or its equivalent courses, 
may be used toward meeting the continuing education requirement and also as meeting the 
pre-license broker requirement. 
 

003.04 In addition to continuing education activities directly approved by the Real Estate 
Commission, the Commission shall accept: 

 

003.04A Continuing education activities approved to meet the continuing education 
requirements for renewal of a salesperson or broker license in another real estate 
jurisdiction and taken outside the State of Nebraska. 

 

003.04B Instruction by instructors of approved continuing education activities toward 
meeting the continuing education requirement. The same restrictions of usage as set 
forth in Title 299, Chapter 7, Section 003 will apply. 
 

003.04C Reviews of continuing education activities that are provided in a distance 
education format and have been submitted for approval as provided in this Chapter when 
the appointed reviewer, who must meet the same qualification standards established for 
continuing education instructors, successfully completes the activity and provides a report 
prescribed by the Commission.  
 

003.04D The Commission shall have no obligation to accept a continuing education 
activity otherwise considered acceptable under this subsection if the activity has been 
identified by the Commission as unacceptable according to Nebraska continuing 
education criteria. 
 

003.04E Written affirmation from non-resident licensees that they have met the current 
continuing education requirement in their state of residence. 

 

003.05 Licensees may use appraisal continuing education approved by the Nebraska Real Estate 
Appraiser Board toward their salesperson or broker continuing education requirement, when 
taken during the applicable two-year period for their salesperson or broker license. 

 

004 The following activities shall not be approved as continuing education and cannot be used toward 
meeting the continuing education requirement: 
 

004.01 Those which are specifically examination preparation in nature. 
 

004.02 Those which deal with office or business skills, such as typing, speed reading, memory 
improvement, body language, motivation and similar activities. 

 

004.03 Those which are completed by a challenge examination (testing-out of the activity). 
 

004.04 Sales promotion or sales meetings held in conjunction with a brokerage firm's general 
business. 

 

004.05 Orientation courses for licensees held by trade organizations. 
 

004.06 Continuing education activities taken prior to approval date of the continuing education 
activity. 

 

004.07 Continuing education activities of the same content, or if in the opinion of the Commission 



 

 

  

an activity is so similar as to be indistinguishable in content, cannot be used for a minimum of four 
years after the activity was taken to be applied toward meeting the continuing education 
requirement, except that activities meeting the required hours set forth in Section 001 of this 
Chapter may be repeated but not in the same two-year continuing education period. 

 

004.08 Broker licensees cannot retake courses taken as part of their pre-license requirement and 
use them toward meeting their continuing education requirement except as provided in Title 299, 
Chapter 7, Section 003.07. 

 

004.09 Continuing education activities taken to make up a deficiency of the continuing education 
requirement from a previous continuing education period may not be used toward the current 
period's continuing education requirement. 

 

005 Qualifications for recognition of training activities shall be as stated herein. 

 

005.01 A training activity offered in the State of Nebraska shall be recognized by the Real Estate 
Commission pursuant to Section 81-885.51 if the Real Estate Commission determines that:  

 

005.01A The training activity directly relates to real estate services provided by real estate 
licensees to the public; and 
 

005.01B The training does not materially misstate elements of the Real Estate License 
Act or other provisions of the law; and  

 

005.01C A training activity must consist of at least one sixty minute hour. In the case of a 
training activity delivered in a distance education format there must be at least the content 
equivalent of one sixty-minute hour; and  

 

005.01D The provider has submitted a complete application as prescribed by the Real 
Estate Commission at least thirty days prior to the beginning of the training activity. 
 

005.02 The Commission shall have the authority to require additional information regarding 
training content in order to determine eligibility.  

 

005.03 The Commission may determine that an activity submitted to meet the training 
requirement would more appropriately be recognized as continuing education because the level of 
complexity or legal nature of the training requires a more detailed review of the subject matter as 
provided in these regulations for continuing education.  

 

006 The following activities cannot be used toward meeting the training requirement: 
 

006.01 Those which are specifically examination preparation in nature. 
 

006.02 Those which are completed by a challenge examination (testing-out of the activity). 
 

006.03 Orientation courses for licensees held by trade organizations. 
 

006.04 Training activities taken prior to the Commission’s recognition date of the training activity. 
 

007 The Commission shall notify applicants in a timely manner, in writing, whether an application is 
approved or denied. If an application is denied, the denial notice shall state the reason(s) for denial. This 
section applies to initial submittals of applications for approval of training activities, and providers, 
activities, and instructors of Nebraska real estate continuing education; resubmittals of continuing 
education activities for reapproval every three years; and resubmittals of activities due to substantial 
changes in the activities. 



 

 

  

 

008 Approved continuing education activities shall be resubmitted by the provider for approval and 
reviewed every three years by the Commission unless substantial changes are made in the activity prior to 
that time.  
 

009 If substantial changes are made, the activity shall be submitted by the provider for review and 
approval, and may not be offered prior to receiving notice that the altered activity has been approved. 
 

010 Decisions of the Real Estate Commission to deny approval of training activities or continuing 
education providers, activities, or instructors may be reviewed by the Commission when such review is 
requested within twenty days of notification of said decision. The Real Estate Commission may at any time 
re-evaluate an approved training activity or continuing education provider, activity, or instructor. If a basis 
for consideration of revocation of approval is found, the Commission shall notify said provider by mail at 
least twenty business days prior to said hearing on the revocation. 

 
011 Providers of approved training or continuing education activities shall be governed by the provisions of 
this Section in addition to any other applicable statutes or rules and regulations. 
 

011.01 The provider shall submit to the Commission a notice of the scheduling of an approved 
activity prior to offering the activity. The notice shall be submitted in a form prescribed by the 
Commission. This subsection shall not apply to distance education activities offered in an 
independent study format. 

 
011.02 Successful completion of an approved training or continuing education activity requires 
full-time attendance at the activity. 

 
011.03 A completion certificate, not larger than 8 2 by 11, must be issued to each student upon 
completion of the activity and shall include such information required by the Commission. 

 
011.04 In the case of students using a pre-license broker course toward both pre-license and 
continuing education as set forth in Title 299, Chapter 7, Section 002.03, upon request by the 
student a separate continuing education completion certificate will be issued by the provider upon 
completion of the course in addition to the pre-license proof of completion. 
 
011.05 Records shall be maintained by each provider on each individual student for four years. 
Said records to include: name and real estate license identification number of the student; 
residence or business address of the student; the title of the activity completed in full,; the number 
of training or continuing education hours granted the activity; the date the student completed the 
activity; and, activity content numbers for continuing education activities. 

 
011.06 A verification listing of the attendees at an approved training or continuing education 
activity who have met the requirements of completion as established by the Commission pursuant 
to Section 81-885.52 of the Nebraska Real Estate License Act shall be submitted to the 
Commission, in the current format specified by the Commission, within ten business days of the 
conclusion of the activity. 
 
011.07 By January 31st of each year all approved providers shall submit to the Commission a 
chronological list to include the title, number of hours granted, date, location, instructor and 
number of attendees for each training or continuing education activity conducted during the 
preceding year.  

 
012 Nothing in this Chapter shall be construed to preclude training or educational offerings sponsored, or 
conducted, by the Real Estate Commission from being accepted toward meeting the continuing education 
requirement of the Nebraska Real Estate License Act.  
 

Laws 1985, LB 101, '10; RS 1943, '81-885.54, R.S. Supp., 1985. Effective date March 7, 
1985. 


