NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION PO Box 94667 Lincoln, NE 68509-4667



Phone: 402-471-2004 Fax: 402-471-4492 Website: nrec.nebraska.gov E-mail: realestate.commission@nebraska.gov

# SALESPERSON APPLICATION INFORMATION AND CHECKLIST NEBRASKA RESIDENT

Below are the procedures and a checklist of items needed to complete for the application process. Completed applications, fees, and all required documentation must be submitted to the Commission utilizing the online form and portal as explained below. The staff of the Real Estate Commission will review the application materials in 24-48 hours, prequalify applicants, and notify applicants of approval to sit for the examination. The entire process takes approximately 4-6 weeks.

# A. APPLICATION OVERVIEW

# SUBMIT THE APPLICATION ONLINE - the electronic application is available on our website at

https://nrec.igovsolution.net/online/initial/initial.aspx?id=14

- Prior to completing the online application, it is strongly recommended that you carefully review the Checklist Help Guide and the Screen Guide Menu located withing the online application. Print a copy of these documents to assist you throughout the process. APPLICATION DEADLINES REMAIN THE SAME FOR ANY METHOD UTILIZED.
- Applicants must be at least 19 years of age to be issued a Nebraska real estate license.

CREATE A PORTAL TO TRACK YOUR APPLICATION - https://nrec.igovsolution.net/online/Login

• Once you submit the application online, you can track the process using the portal

# **B. APPLICATION DETAILS**

## **IDENTIFICATION PHOTOGRAPH**

 Each application for a salesperson original license must include a photograph which meets the following criteria: a passport-type, headand-shoulders photo of the applicant only, at least 2" x 2" in size, which was taken within the last year. Snapshots are acceptable if they meet these criteria. <u>Do not send copies of your passports or driver's license.</u>

## \_\_\_\_\_ FEES

- Fees are non-refundable. Any check returned by an applicant's financial institution will be subject to a \$30.00 processing fee. American Express, Discover, Visa or MasterCard will be accepted, <u>debit cards will NOT be accepted</u>.
- Applicants for the initial salesperson examination must include an application fee and an examination fee with a completed application form.
- Each time an applicant wishes to re-take the examination, s/he must submit an examination fee with a completed re-take application form.

#### PROVIDE EDUCATIONAL BACKGROUND INFORMATION

#### EDUCATIONAL BACKGROUND

 Nebraska statutes require all applicants to be high school graduates, hold a certificate of equivalency, or evidence of participation or enrollment in a home school program from the Department of Education. If an applicant has received a GED (General Equivalency Diploma) a copy of the diploma must be enclosed with the application or uploaded to the portal.

#### FOREIGN HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATES

 Applicants with foreign high school educations must meet the same academic requirements as applicants who have received their high school education in the United States. To be used as a basis for issuance of a real estate salesperson or broker license, documentation indicating that the foreign high school degree is at least the equivalent of a high school degree granted in the United States must be submitted as part of the application.

## • The high school degree must be determined equivalent by <u>one</u> of the following documents:

1) A transcript of a Bachelor's Degree from a United States college that indicates that the individual's high school education was sufficient to allow the individual to be admitted into an accredited university.

#### OR

2) Document-by-Document Evaluation Report verifying the equivalence of the foreign high school graduate's education to that of an American high school education.

The Document Evaluation must be conducted through an education credential evaluation service that holds membership in the National Association of Credential Evaluation Services (NACES). Information about NACES and a contact list of its member credentialing services can be found on the Internet at: <u>www.naces.org</u> or may be obtained by contacting NACES at:

#### NACES

C/O International Education Research Foundation, Inc. Post Office Box 3665 Culver City, CA 90231-3665 Phone: (310) 258-9451 ext. 140 Fax: (310) 342-7086 OR

3) A General Education Diploma (GED) from a U.S. education department.

We suggest that this documentation be obtained early in the application process or prior to the application being 0 submitted.

#### COMPLETE THE STATUTORY EDUCATION REQUIREMENT-60 CLOCK HOURS AND COURSE 0003 (6 HOURS) THE ONLY PROOF OF COMPLETION NEEDED IS IF PROVIDING TRANSCRIPTS

#### PRELICENSE EDUCATION REQUIREMENT (enclosed in application packet)

- Each applicant for a salesperson license who wishes to take the examination must furnish evidence that s/he has completed 0 two Commission-approved courses in real estate subjects composed of not less than thirty class hours of study each, or completed equivalent distance education courses approved by the Commission and submit completion of the six hour Course #0003 related to professional standards. Approved providers will submit verification of completion within 10 days of course completion.
- Persons taking courses at colleges or universities from which transcripts are the official proof 0 may use letters from their instructors or grade reports as initial proof for application purposes, but no license will be issued until an official transcript has been received from the college or university. Official transcripts can either be mailed directly from the college or university to the Commission office or emailed directly from the college or university to realestate.commission@nebraska.gov

#### DATA SEARCH WILL BE COMPLETED BY THE COMMISSION

All applicants for a Nebraska Real Estate License are subject to a real estate license history data search to determine whether any disciplinary action has been taken against the applicant in any other real estate jurisdictions. Applicants with criminal convictions and/or a history of disciplinary action in this or in other jurisdictions are subject to the guidelines specified in the Policies and Interpretations section of the License Law Manual.

#### **CITIZENSHIP ATTESTATION**

Nebraska Statutes 4-108 through 4-114 require the Nebraska Real Estate Commission to verify the lawful presence in the United States of any person who has applied for a professional license and should be enforced without regard to race, religion, gender, ethnicity, or national origin. Verification of lawful presence in the United States requires that the applicant attest, in a format provided, that he or she is a United States citizen; or he or she is a gualified alien under the federal immigration and Nationality Act. A gualified alien applicant shall have his or her employment authorization document verified through the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements Program operated by the United States Department of Homeland Security or an equivalent program designated by the United States Department of Homeland Security. The verification is required when you apply for a real estate license and with each two-year license renewal. If you are not a U.S. citizen, please make sure that you provide the correct immigration status and alien number as this number is used to verify employment eligibility. You must also be able to provide a copy of your USCIS documentation upon request.

#### C. CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK PROCESS

•

#### PURSUE THE FINGERPRINT PROCESS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE

- The Nebraska Real Estate License Act requires all applicants for original licensure as a real estate salesperson or broker to undergo a criminal background check utilizing fingerprints. This includes both resident and nonresident applicants.
- Once the license application has been completed online and filed with the Commission, you will be sent the fingerprint cards used to complete the background report along with the recommended procedures. Failure to follow the procedures attached to the fingerprint cards could cause a delay in processing.
  - TIP: Pursue the fingerprint process as soon as possible
    - We recommend submitting the application and payment immediately so that we can send you the necessary cards and you can proceed through the fingerprinting process most expediently. Be aware that it is taking on average 4-6 weeks for criminal reports to be received in the Commission office.

#### **REMIT PAYMENT - Background check fees are paid directly to the State Patrol**

# NOTIFICATION ONCE BACKGROUND REPORT IS RECEIVED BY THE COMMISSION

- When the criminal background report has been received in the Commission office an email will be sent to the applicant indicating either: i. the application is complete and an appointment may be made to take the examination,
  - ii. the application is incomplete and to review the portal for the items remaining for a complete application.

# FINGERPRINT BASED BACKGROUND CHECK DISCLOSURE

- Identification records obtained may not be disseminated outside the Nebraska Real Estate Commission. If the information on the record is used to disqualify an applicant, the Commission will provide the applicant the opportunity to comply or challenge the accuracy of the information contained on the record. The Commission should not deny the application based on the information in the record until the applicant has been afforded a reasonable time to correct or complete the information, or has declined to do so.
- An individual should be presumed not guilty of any charge/arrest for which there is no final disposition stated on the record or otherwise determined. If the applicant wishes to correct the record, the applicant should be advised that the procedures to change, correct, or update the record are set forth below:

Title 28, CFR, section 16.34 – Procedure to obtain change, correction or updating of identification records.

• If, after reviewing his/her identification record, the subject thereof believes that it is incorrect or incomplete in any respect and wishes changes, corrections or updating of the alleged deficiency, he/she should make application directoy to the agency which contributed the quested information. The subject of a record may also direct his/her challenge as to the accuracy or completeness of any entry on his/her record to the FBI, Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division, ATTN: SCU, Mod. D-2, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, Clarksburg, WV 26306. The FBI will then forward the challenge to the agency which submitted the data requesting that agency to verify or correct the challenged entry. Upon the receipt of an official communication directly from the agency which contributed the original information, the FBI CJIS Division will make any changes necessary in accordance with the information supplied by that agency.

## D. SCHEDULING AN EXAMINATION APPOINTMENT

## APPROVAL MUST BE RECEIVED PRIOR TO SCHEDULING THE EXAMINATION

- The Approval Will Be Emailed from Pearson VUE Once Approved To Sit For The Examination
- Review the <u>Candidate Handbook</u>, enclosed in the application packet, for information regarding the examination and process

#### SCHEDULING THE EXAMINATION

- <u>After</u> an applicant has submitted a completed application to sit for the examination <u>and</u> received notification of his/her eligibility from Pearson VUE, the applicant may schedule an appointment to take the examination by calling the examination company or registering on their portal at: https://www.pearsonvue.com/us/en/ne/realestate.html
- Appointments will only be scheduled for applicants who have been approved by the Commission, and whose names have been referred to the examination company by the Commission staff.
- When an applicant schedules an appointment, s/he should be prepared to confirm a date and location for testing and provide his/her name and Social Security Number. Applicants are required to provide Social Security Numbers for unique identification. Applicants should make a note of the appointment time and location because no further notification will be given. Candidates absent from or late to an exam who have not changed or canceled the reservation according to the Change/Cancel Policy will not be admitted to the exam and will forfeit the exam fee.

#### SPECIAL ARRANGEMENTS FOR CANDIDATES WITH DISABILITIES

No individual with a disability will be deprived of the opportunity to take the examination solely by reason of that disability. Reasonable accommodations for candidates with disabilities will be provided. Applicants must inform the Real Estate Commission and the examination company of their need for special accommodations when submitting their applications to the Real Estate Commission AND when scheduling the examinations. Applicants requesting special accommodations will be required to submit documentation of their disability from an appropriate professional, e.g., education professional, doctor, psychologist, psychiatrist, etc., to the examination company via fax or mail prior to being scheduled for an examination. All special arrangements will be made on an individual basis.

#### STUDY MATERIALS

 It is suggested that the applicant study the materials enclosed. Preparation should also be made covering definitions of real estate terms, listing and purchase offer contracts, deeds, closing or final settlements, legal descriptions, and business arithmetic problems. Applicants should have a clear understanding of the obligations that exist between the principal and the agent.

# E. TAKING THE EXAMINATION

## BRING TWO FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION WITH YOU TO THE EXAMINATION SITE

- At the examination site, <u>applicants will be required to show two pieces of identification</u>, including one of the following: an unexpired driver's license with photograph; an unexpired passport or military identification with photograph; or an unexpired official state identification card with photograph. The second form of identification must display the applicant's name and signature for signature verification. Temporary identification of any sort is not acceptable.
- Applicants will only be allowed to take the examination type for which they have applied; no changes in examination type will be made at the examination center. Unscheduled candidates (walk-ins) will not be admitted to the examination center.
- Please read the Candidate Information Bulletin carefully for more information about the examination (enclosed in the application packet).

# CALCULATORS, CELL PHONES AND OTHER HANDHELD or PERSONAL ELECTRONIC DEVICES ARE NOT ALLOWED WHEN TESTING

- No personal items are allowed in the testing room. Personal items include but are not limited to: cellular phones, hand-held computers or other electronic devices, pagers, watches, wallets, purses, firearms or other weapons, hats, bags, coats, books, notes, or pens or pencils.
- Personal calculators are NOT permitted, an online calculator is available as part of the exam. (photo of calculator on page 11)
- Candidates must store all personal items in a secure area as indicated by the administrator or return items to their vehicle. All electronic devices must be turned off before storing them in a locker.

#### F. FAILING THE EXAMINATION

## SUBMIT A RETAKE APPLICATION

• All applicants will be issued an official score report immediately following the examination. If an applicant has not received a passing score, a retake application must be submitted the portal located at: <a href="https://nrec.igovsolution.net/online/Login">https://nrec.igovsolution.net/online/Login</a> the following day.

- SALESPERSON EXAMINATION CANDIDATES PLEASE NOTE: Those taking the <u>salesperson</u> examination who pass either the
  national or the state-specific section of the examination but fail the other section will be allowed to retain credit for the section of the
  examination they pass. The applicant will retain said credit through three subsequent administrations of the examination or six months,
  whichever comes first. Should the candidate fail to pass the additional section of the examination within this framework, he/she will be
  required to retake both portions of the examination again and the retention schedule will begin again from that point forward, and so on.
  Candidates are advised to take care with their original passing score report as they will be required to submit it to the Commission as
  part of their license application. Because the staffing needs and site commitment remain the same, the full examination fee will be
  required whether two parts of the examination are being taken or one.
- Each time an applicant wishes to re-take the examination, s/he must submit an examination fee with a completed re-take application form to the Commission office.

## G. PASSING THE EXAMINATION

#### SUBMIT PASSING SCORE REPORTS ON THE PORTAL WITHIN 30 DAYS OF PASSING THE EXAMINATION

All applicants will be issued an official score report immediately following the examination. Applicants who pass the examination are
required to submit their score report(s) to the Commission, with the picture intact, in order to obtain a license. Submission
<u>should be made using the documents tab of the portal</u>. Applicants must complete the licensing process within thirty (30) days of
being notified that a passing grade has been received.

#### \_\_\_\_ RELEASE OF APPLICANT NAMES FOR MAILING PURPOSES

• At the time of the examination, applicants may be given an option of having their names released for mailing purposes. In Nebraska this is public information and is **not** optional.

#### H. LICENSE ISSUANCE - Must be completed within 30 days

#### FOLLOW THE LICENSE ISSUANCE PROCEDURES AND CHECKLIST

- The License issuance information is located on our website at: <u>https://nrec.nebraska.gov/licensing-forms/licenseissueprocedures.html</u>
- The checklist is located at: <u>https://nrec.nebraska.gov/pdf/forms/Residentlicenseissuechecklist.pdf</u>

#### \_\_\_\_<u>30 DAY REQUIREMENT</u>

• Administrative procedures in the Commission Office require that an applicant must complete the licensing process within thirty (30) days of being notified that a passing grade has been received.

#### SUBMIT LICENSE ISSUANCE FORM ON THE PORTAL

- Applicants will also need to indicate, whether the license should be issued on active or inactive status, provide the required documentation on how they will be employed or doing business. This can be done by uploading the form and documents to your portal.
- The licensing fee pays for a license which will be valid for the balance of the calendar year. <u>All licenses must be renewed for the calendar year</u>, whether on active or inactive status.

#### LICENSE ISSUANCE FEE

The licensing fee will entitle the applicant to a license which will be valid for the balance of the calendar year. <u>All new licenses must be</u> renewed at the end of the calendar year the license is issued.

#### ERRORS AND OMISSIONS INSURANCE

- Applications for issuance of an original or renewal license on active status will not be approved until the Real Estate Commission Office has received proof that the applicant obtained Errors & Omissions (E & O) insurance coverage.
- An E & O insurance policy is available to all licensees under a group plan offered through the Commission's Program Administrator. E & O insurance may also be acquired from any qualified carrier, as long as the coverage is equivalent to that made available through the Real Estate Commission. An enrollment form and additional information on the Commission's plan, as well as an Errors and Omissions Fact Sheet and Certification of Equivalent Coverage Form, is available on the Commission's website at: <a href="https://nrec.nebraska.gov/licensing-forms/eoinformation.html">https://nrec.nebraska.gov/licensing-forms/eoinformation.html</a>

#### I. POST-LICENSE EDUCATION

- <u>Completion of Course Number 7000</u>, 12 hours of post license education <u>within 180 days of licensure</u> to avoid being placed on inactive status.
- Approved Provider/Course List available on the Commission website at: <a href="https://nrec.nebraska.gov/licensing-forms/postlicedrequirements.html">https://nrec.nebraska.gov/licensing-forms/postlicedrequirements.html</a>

#### J. APPLICATION IS VALID FOR ONE YEAR

The information supplied on the application is only considered valid for one year from the date the application was received in the Real Estate Commission Office. Therefore, after having an application on file for more than one year, an applicant must complete another application in full, including a criminal background check, and pay another application fee. The examination fee is valid until an examination is taken, or until the examination fee is forfeited because the applicant canceled an examination appointment, arrived more than 15 minutes late for an examination appointment, or failed to appear for an examination appointment. If the application has been on file for longer than one year, or if the applicant is unsure of the amount of time that it has been on file, please contact the Real Estate Commission Office to find out the exact items needed.